History- Brooklyn Eagle

Sept 23, 1902: “Burglars in Bushwick”
-810 Bushwick Ave robbed
-Home of Charles H. Reynolds, local coal dealer
-police arrived after burglars had left (family in house whole time)
-house “will be wired from top to bottom”
-corner of DeKalb & Bushwick is “a bad one” and not well protected by police
-many loiterers late at night

Apr 15, 1888: “A Stroll Along a Road: From Bushwick to Kings Highway 100 Years Ago”
-125 years ago (~1763) New Bushwick Lane was cut for farmers in the area
-overlaps in places with current Bushwick Ave
-at the time of the 1854 consolidation:
—Williamsburgh = 50,000 population
—Bushwick (township) = 7,000 (including 2 villages)
-1888: over 100,000 population
-Bushwick deemed a “solid city” in 1888
-most houses are wood
-discusses intersection of Bushwick & Jefferson
—Newtown road used to cross (Dutch settlers called it Ilet Kivis Padt)
—cluster of old houses gone down “before the march of improvement”
—some remain, distiguished by Dutch style architecture (@ Bremon & Melrose, Bushwick & Myrtle)
-Bushwick & Myrtle house occupied by J. L. Nostrand, civil engineer & surveyor
-further east on Bushwick, avenue is built up with “picturesque” residences and yards
-east of Cedar, street being graded & paved
-area from Palmetto St to Vigellus is part of old Suydam farm
—purchased by Adrian M. Suydam, present owner
—area being built up with houses
—Suydam homestead @ Woodbine & Evergreen, one of oldest residences in city!
-cross streets built up as far north as Evergreen

Feb 12, 1900: “Bushwick District Revival”
-brochures distributed to all householders inviting them to attend church services
-churches working together
-two valuable overcoats stolen during a church service- reverend dismayed

Jul 10, 1887: “Bushwick or Boswuck: Historic Facts of an Old Town Now Merged in Brooklyn”
-records burned, no way to know date of Dutch Town Hall
-Dutch settlement had market at Bushwick & Gates, many of the Dutch were farmers
-Dutch didn’t speak much English
-common names in 1787: Van Raubs, Terhune, Van Brunt, Luquier, Consolyea, Debevoise, Wyckoff, & Vanderveer
-Bushwick (or Boswyck) formally established in 1660 by Petrus Styvesant
—attempts to settle were made as early as 1629
-“in 1662 Bushwick contained no more than 25 dwellings”
-conquest of the Dutch by the English in 1664
—wouldn’t support Dutch schools and tried to set up Episcopal church
—reps from Boswyck (Bushwick), Amersfort (Flatlands), Nolu Utrecht (New Utrecht), Miderout (Flatbush), and Breuklyn (Brooklyn) met to settle disputes in Dutch
——first revolutionary measure against British rule in America!
-Town House was the seat of justice (public punishments, etc.)
-Bushwick was first known by the Indian name of Koskackqom (* represent obscured letters)
—Indian name of Brooklyn was Marockwaick or Merochkamckineh
-Bushwick Creek was first known as Norman’s Kill

Sep 30, 1894: “Up Bushwick Avenue: It is a Beautiful Residence Thoroughfare”
-“quaint old block houses, pretty villa homes, and stately modern mansions mingle in picturesque confusiong, and mike it a charming locality for residence”
-used to be a blacksmith shop at the south side of Flushing Ave, owned by Alexander Whalley
-Papelye’s tavern, NE corner of Flushing and Bushwick
-SW corner of Bushwick & DeKalb: frame dwelling of E. S. Howard, behind which are Howard’s Wire works, one of the first manufacturers in this area of Brooklyn, started ~1850s